Golf Magazine | Homepage
Georgia Hall Named Player of the Year

Georgia Hall Named Player of the Year

🕔11.Dec 2017

England’s Georgia Hall had reason to celebrate after collecting both the Ladies European Tour’s Order of Merit and Players’ Player of the Year Awards at a glittering awards dinner following the Omega Dubai Ladies Classic.

The 21-year-old from Dorset wrapped up the Order of Merit with earnings of €368,934.60 from 10 tournaments and was presented with a beautiful diamond encrusted OMEGA watch and a cheque for €20,000.

Hall recorded seven top-10s on the LET in 2017, two of those in European Major Championships. Her season started strongly with a tie for third in the World Ladies Championship in China and she then tied for fourth in the Lalla Meryem Cup in Morocco. She posted a tie for ninth in the Aberdeen Asset Management Ladies Scottish Open and then shared third place in the Ricoh Women’s British Open at Kingsbarns Golf Links, marking her out as one of Europe’s rising stars.

Her debut as a rookie in The Solheim Cup, where she played in all five matches, proved her class on a global stage, with her performance beamed to more than 530 million households and watched by 124,426 spectators at Des Moines Country Club in Iowa.

She then tied for 10th place in the fifth Major, the Evian Championship in France, before posting a fourth-place finish in the Andalucia Costa del Sol Open de España Femenino and second in the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open in Abu Dhabi.

Reflecting on the season, she said, “It’s been a long year and I’m so happy to be able to win it. I think I’ve played great this year and I’ve had some really good results. It was one of my targets at the start of this year and I’m over the moon. The Solheim Cup was huge for me and to finish third at the British Open was big. Second in Abu Dhabi, I love it there, so it was nice to go back and this is one of the biggest moments in my career, winning the Order of Merit.”

Winners of the Order of Merit

1979 Catherine Panton-Lewis

1980 Muriel Thomson

1981 Jenny Lee Smith

1982 Jenny Lee Smith

1983 Muriel Thomson

1984 Dale Reid

1985 Laura Davies

1986 Laura Davies

1987 Dale Reid

1988 Marie-Laure Taya

1989 Marie-Laure de Lorenzi

1990 Trish Johnson

1991 Corinne Dibnah £89,058.00

1992 Laura Davies £66,333.00

1993 Karen Lunn £81,266.00

1994 Liselotte Neumann £102,750.00

1995 Annika Sorenstam £130,324.00

1996 Laura Davies £110,880.00

1997 Alison Nicholas £94,589.00

1998 Helen Alfredsson £125,975.00

1999 Laura Davies £204,522.00

2000 Sophie Gustafson £208,288.00

2001 Raquel Carriedo £160,441.00

2002 Annika Sorenstam €455,567.99

2003 Annika Sorenstam €286,991.24

2004 Annika Sorenstam €368,264.22

2005 Iben Tinning €204,672.62

2006 Laura Davies €471,727.42

2007 Sophie Gustafson €222,081.47

2008 Gwladys Nocera €391,839.58

2009 Sophie Gustafson €281,315.00

2010 Lee-Anne Pace €339,517.77

2011 Ai Miyazato €363,079.68

2012 Carlota Ciganda €251,289.95

2013 Suzann Pettersen €518,448.81

2014 Charley Hull €247,616.69

2015 Shanshan Feng €399,213.41

2016 Beth Allen €313,079.27

2017 Georgia Hall €368,934.60

Players’ Player of the Year

1995 Annika Sorenstam

1996 Laura Davies

1997 Alison Nicholas

1998 Sophie Gustafson

1999 Laura Davies

2000 Sophie Gustafson

2001 Raquel Carriedo

2002 Annika Sorenstam

2003 Sophie Gustafson

2004 Stephanie Arricau

2005 Iben Tinning

2006 Gwladys Nocera

2007 Bettina Hauert

2008 Gwladys Nocera

2009 Catriona Matthew

2010 Lee-Anne Pace

2011 Caroline Hedwall

2012 Carlota Ciganda

2013 Lee-Anne Pace

2014 Charley Hull

2015 Nicole Broch Larsen

2016 Beth Allen

2017 Georgia Hall



In The Mag

Cover Story: Top 10 Courses in Malaysia
The cream of the crop is finally revealed. Horizon Hills Golf & Country Club emerged the number one course in the country with Tropicana Golf & Country Resort and Kota Permai Golf.....


Golf Instructions


Course Directory

Instruction Video